If you plan to go out to drink at a restaurant or bar, drink at friends’ homes or at parties, please use a designated driver or call a cab. Do not consume drinks made with hard liquor. You will not know how many shots were used to “make” a drink. A drink is one ounce of hard liquor, one 12-ounce beer, or one 3-ounce glass of wine. If two shots are poured into your drink, you will have had two drinks, not one. A man who weighs 180 pounds and who consumes two drinks in one hour with two shots in each glass has actually had four drinks and his blood alcohol level will be a .07, which is illegal. You are presumed to be impaired by alcohol at a .05 to a .07. If your blood alcohol level reaches .08, you are presumed to be driving under the influence of alcohol.
A woman who weighs 120 pounds and consumes one “drink” in one hour with two shots in it, raises her blood alcohol level to .05. If that same woman consumes two drinks with two shots in each glass in one hour, her blood alcohol level will rise to .11. A woman who weighs 120 pounds and consumes two 6-oz. glasses of wine within one hour is legally under the influence – her blood alcohol level will be .11. Three ounces of wine is one drink. Most restaurants pour 5 ounces in one glass of wine.
Effective July 1, 2004, the Colorado State Legislature has lowered the level of alcohol consumption as shown by an analysis of a driver’s blood or breath necessary to obtain a conviction for D.U.I., vehicular homicide, and vehicular assault from 0.10 to 0.08. The level of alcohol as shown by an analysis of a driver’s blood or breath necessary to sustain a revocation of your driver’s license under the Express Consent Statute has been lowered from 0.10 to 0.08.
If the result of your blood or breath test is .17 or higher, you will be required to install an ignition interlock device in your car for two years after you are eligible to have your driving privileges reinstated. If the result of your blood or breath test is .20 or higher, you will receive a minimum mandatory 10-day jail sentence.
Drivers who are 21 years of age or older are presumed to be under the influence of alcohol if their blood alcohol level is a .08 or higher. However, if you are under the age of 21 you are presumed to be under the influence of alcohol if your blood alcohol level is only .02! A teenage girl who weighs 120 pounds and consumes two drinks in one hour has a blood alcohol level of .05, and if she drives, she is driving under the influence of alcohol. A teenage boy who weighs 160 pounds and who consumes three drinks over a two-hour period has a blood alcohol level of .03, and if he drives, he is driving under the influence of alcohol. A teenager who is convicted in court of driving while ability impaired by alcohol or convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol will have his/her driver’s license revoked for one year and no driving privileges are possible. When your insurance company discovers that your son or daughter has been convicted of an alcohol-related offense, they will be cancelled from your insurance policies. After the one-year revocation, if your son or daughter wants to have their driving privileges reinstated, they will be required to find a high-risk insurance company to obtain insurance at a cost several times above what you were paying.
If you would like your D.U.I. defense carefully conducted by an experienced, competent, and reliable Denver, Colorado D.U.I. attorney, contact me immediately at 720-270-2500.